Raven in Canton

Raven in Canton

See All News

The Baltimore Ravens used their first-ever draft pick to select UCLA tackle Jonathan Ogden in 1996. Now, nearly two decades later the six-time All-NFL pick becomes the first longtime member of the franchise to be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Ogden is thrilled to have the distinction and is honored to share his enshrinement experience with the Ravens fans.

“I’m really looking forward to it. I really want to share those moments with those guys, because at the end of the day, the fans are the ones who pay the NFL some bills [and] keep the league afloat,” stated Ogden recently. “You definitely have to appreciate them, especially when they’re as loyal and as great as the fans in B-more are.”

He joins two other members of the Hall of Fame who were their team’s first-ever draft choice and later became the franchise’s first Hall of Famer. The Dallas Cowboys joined the NFL too late in 1960 to participate in that year’s draft. The following year, the team drafted Defensive Tackle Bob Lilly out Texas Christian. After 14 star-studded seasons he earned election to the Hall of Fame in 1980.

The expansion Tampa Bay Buccaneers selected Oklahoma star Lee Roy Selmon first overall in 1976. After a spectacular career, Selmon became the first Buccaneer to have a bust in Canton when he was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1995.

Here’s the list of first Hall of Famers for each of the 29 current teams represented in the Hall of Fame. Three clubs – Carolina Panthers, Houston Texans, and Jacksonville Jaguars – have yet to have a longtime member make it to Canton.

Franchise Hall of Famer(s) Year of Induction
Arizona Cardinals Ernie Nevers 1963
Atlanta Falcons Deion Sanders 2011
Baltimore Ravens Jonathan Ogden 2013
Buffalo Bills O.J. Simpson 1985
Carolina Panthers No longtime member has been inducted into the Hall of Fame -
Chicago Bears Harold "Red" Grange, George Halas, Bronko Nagurski 1963
Cincinnati Bengals Anthony Munoz 1998
Cleveland Browns Otto Graham 1965
Dallas Cowboys Bob Lilly 1980
Denver Broncos John Elway 2004
Detroit Lions Earl "Dutch" Clark 1963
Green Bay Packers Cal Hubbard, Don Hutson, Earl "Curly" Lambeau, John "Blood" McNally 1963
Houston Texans No longtime member has been inducted into the Hall of Fame -
Indianapolis Colts Art Donovan 1968
Jacksonville Jaguars No longtime member has been inducted into the Hall of Fame -
Kansas City Chiefs Lamar Hunt 1972
Miami Dolphins Paul Warfield 1983
Minnesota Vikings Fran Tarkenton 1986
New England Patriots John Hannah 1991
New Orleans Saints Jim Finks 1995
New York Giants Mel Hein, Tim Mara 1963
New York Jets Weeb Ewbank 1978
Oakland Raiders Jim Otto 1980
Philadelphia Eagles Bert Bell 1963
Pittsburgh Steelers Bill Dudley, Walt Kiesling 1966
St. Louis Rams Bob Waterfield 1965
San Diego Chargers Lance Alworth 1978
San Francisco 49ers Leo Nomellini, Joe Perry 1969
Seattle Seahawks Steve Largent 1995
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Lee Roy Selmon 1995
Tennessee Titans George Blanda 1981
Washington Redskins Sammy Baugh, George Preston Marshall 1963
Back to news